Rensselaer Inducts New Members Into Phalanx Honor Society

March 17, 2005

Troy, N.Y. — Thirty-six students have been inducted into the Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Phalanx honor society.  Phalanx honors student leadership and celebrates those who have “worked to better the standing of Rensselaer both on and off campus.”  New members are selected — or “tapped” — by the student members of Phalanx.

The 2005 inductees are from the following states: New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Rhode Island, New Hampshire, Washington, Massachusetts, Maryland, Florida, Virginia, and Montana.

Khaoula Benghanem, president of Phalanx, and David Fannon, vice president, presided over the tapping ceremony that was attended by alumni and honorary Phalanx members, family, and friends of the inductees, and others from the Rensselaer community. Michael Hanna, associate professor of biology, gave the Darrin Address. Hanna was the 2004 Darrin Counseling Award winner. (The Darrin Counseling Award is presented annually by Phalanx during Commencement.)

In remarks to the 2005 Phalanx inductees, President Jackson applauded their contributions to the Rensselaer community and praised them for their leadership. “These are the leaders of the leaders,” she said. “Each of this year’s inductees possesses unique strengths, talents, and enthusiasms. All of this year’s inductees have distinguished themselves in the areas of leadership, service, and devotion to Rensselaer.”

The 2005 student inductees are: Peter Baldwin, Nathaniel Bobeck, Brian Brzek, Kelly Burr, Shi-Huey Chen, Charlene Chotalal, Grant Cochran, Joanna Coonradt, Rachel Evans, G. Matt Ezovski, Ryan Frisch, Shannon Hitchcock, Eric Jacob, Adam Jubanowsky, Mitul Kanzaria, Christopher Kennedy, Brandace King, Marija Kuzmanovic, Rebecca Lamb, Michael Louis, Kevin Ly, Kerrissa Lynch, Anne Marinaro, Jeremy Meller, Shaun Mohan, Wallace Morris, Matt Newman, Joe Panniello, David Scherzer, Joshua Schuster, Sondra Sherman, Steven Silvester, Laura Van Benschoten, Veronica Voloshinov, Justin Walraven, and Max Yates.

Since 1912, the year that Phalanx was established, 1,283 members have been named to the organization. 

The Phalanx ceremony was held on Sunday, March 5, on the Troy, New York campus.  In addition, 12 students were inducted into the White Key Society, Rensselaer’s junior honor society, for the promise they have shown as leaders as freshmen and sophomores.

Profile of 2005 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Phalanx Honor Society Inductees

Contact: Jessica Otitigbe
Phone: (518) 276-6050

Back to top